Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Sunday, March 28, 2010

VANOC Cannot Stop Me From Saying These Things About the 2010 Olympics

After reading some of Cory Doctorow's posts on BoingBoing, I am surprised at how the Olympic officials for Vancouver 2010 were so committed to silencing any dissent of the Games, including censoring anti-Olympics sentiments of civilians.
http://boingboing.net/2008/09/29/olympics-reach-a-new.html
http://m.boingboing.net/2007/03/03/vancouver-olympics-w.html

http://m.boingboing.net/2010/01/08/homeless-people-relo.html
http://m.boingboing.net/2009/07/08/vancouver-olympics-t.html
http://boingboing.net/2010/02/20/olympic-bullying-dri.html
http://boingboing.net/2009/11/27/canadian-border-guar-1.html

But guess what, VANOC? I'm about to insult the Olympics! Whoo!

(stuff will be added to this throughout the day. I'm in a hurry.)

My Proclamations on the 2010 Olympic Winter Games (but not the Paralympics)
  • "Own the Podium" was dumb and pointless.
  • It was absurdly petty and idiotic to detain Amy Goodman at the border and then give her only 24 hours entry.
  • The musical arrangement of "O Canada" used at the opening ceremony was crappy would have been completely unrecognizable without the lyrics.
  • It was not surprising at all that there was a lack of snow, considering that Vancouver is known for rarely getting any major snowfall.
  • Trademarking use of the words "winter", "Vancouver", and "2010" is the most idiotic thing I've ever heard of.
  • You weren't fooling anyone by "mistaking" that mural for graffiti. http://boingboing.net/2009/12/11/anti-olympic-mural-c.html
  • It was fun to watch the Olympic TV anchors desperately having to avoid acknowledging the drunk people on the street who would yell and swear on live TV. You are a bunch of humourless jackasses.